Royal presence at the EURORDIS Black Pearl Awards

HRH Princess Astrid of Belgium at the 2018 EURORDIS Black Pearl Awards

We were honoured by the presence of HRH Princess Astrid of Belgium at the 2018 EURORDIS Black Pearl Awards. She is sister to King Philippe of Belgium.

Princess Astrid supports clinical and fundamental research through her role as the honorary Chairwoman of the Queen Elisabeth Medical Foundation and the European Organisation on Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC). She regularly visits research projects and patients in medical institutes and clinics. She was also the Chairwoman of the Belgian Red Cross between 1994 and 2007.


Honorary Chairpersons

2018 – Georges Dassis, President of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)

2016 – Jerzy Buzek, Polish politician, former Prime Minister of Poland and former President of the European Parliament

2015- Giovanni La Via, Chair of the Committee on Environment, Public Health and Food Safety, European Parliament

2014 – Martin Schulz, former President of the European Parliament

2012 & 2013 – Herman van Rompuy, former Prime Minister of Belgium and first President of the European Council.

Honorary Patrons

We sincerely thank the Honorary Patrons of the 2019 EURORDIS Black Pearl Awards for supporting the rare disease cause.

Michelle Muscat, Spouse of the Prime Minister of Malta

H.E. Nikolaus Marschik, Permanent Representative of Austria to the EU

H.E. Arlette Conzemius, Ambassador to Luxembourg in Belgium

H.E. Ray Azzopardi, Ambassador to Malta in Belgium

Black Pearl Committee

We sincerely thank the 2019 Black Pearl Committee and their longstanding support of the EURORDIS Black Pearl Awards. 

H.H. Princess Anne de Ligne

Reem Boustany, Member of the Brussels Bar, Belgium

Marlene Haffner, President & CEO, Haffner Associates, USA

Victoria Hedley, University of Newcastle

Claudia Hirawat, Executive Chair of VOZ Advisors, USA

Paola Ricci, Fondation Bertarelli

Bruno Sepodes, Chair COMP, European Medicines Agency

Violeta Stoyanova-Beninska, Chair of Committee for Orphan Medicinal Products at EMA

Prof. Dr. Irene Mathijssen, Department of Plastic, Reconstructive and Hand Surgery, Sophia Children’s Hospital, Erasmus MC – Erasmus Medical Center

Daria Julkowska, E-Rare Coordinator